Happy New Year!

Hope you all had marvellous Christmases (I did) and are enjoying 2010 so far (I am, but for me it has so far mostly consisted of indolence).

2010 is of course going to be General Election year, and I’m feeling very excited about it. 2009, meanwhile, was the year of Twitter, not just for me but for millions – consider the triumph of social media over Trafigura and Carter-Ruck, the overwhelming response to Jan Moir and the beautiful moment that was #welovethenhs – and it looks as though 2010 might also be the year that some of Twitter’s stars spread their influence further. BevaniteEllie is present in just about every ‘ones to watch’ list out there, and deservedly so; Kerry McCarthy and Alastair Campbell feature alongside her in Pandora’s list in the Indie. (Alongside Dan Hannan. Boo.)

Personally I am starting the year in exciting style, as one of the January guest bloggers at The F-Word (that’s the feminist blog, Mom, not the Gordon Ramsay programme). I’m going to cross-post between there and here, but do have a look at my first post – if you’re not a regular F-Word reader, you should be. While you’re there have a look at Philippa Willitts’ post on New Year’s resolutions, and think again about imposing food rules on yourself this year. Instead, if you haven’t signed up to the 10:10 campaign yet, this would be an excellent time to do so.

I was very sad to say goodbye to the last decade once Andrew Gwynne pointed out (on Twitter…of course) that it was the only decade since the First World War not to have seen a Conservative Prime Minister. I prefer to think of it not as the only Tory-free decade, but the first

And on that happy note, I shall say goodnight. Look out for the first ever post by a guest to this blog, coming very shortly!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year Grace – I’m trying to wish all the tweeps I’ve met the real life version of a Happy New Year in person. Well not in person but you – well – personalised !

    2009 was a good one for Twitter wasn’t it ?

    Any chance of putting my blog on your blog roll ?

    1. Happy New Year to you too, and it was lovely to meet you in December. Will sort out a link right away!

Leave a Reply

