Obama orders Guantanamo closure

If you’d asked me two years ago what one thing I wanted to happen to make the world a better place, I think there’s a good chance this would have been it.

It’s so strange…you get all caught up in the election excitement (see for example any of my posts from November) and then you return to good old cynicism. You don’t actually expect politicians to be different. Not American ones anyway. Unutterably delighted as I am at this news, it worries me too: I can feel my cynicism peeling off…oh God. Have I caught Hope?!

Leave a Reply

