Leaflets, licensing and the Lass O’Gowrie: what I’m up this week

Got a bit of a busy one for the rest of the week! Today’s mostly a #labourdoorstep day – I’ve just come back from delivering thank-you leaflets (yes, I know the election was a while ago) and I’ve got several hundred still to get out over the next couple of weeks – any help gratefully received! Then this evening I’m out in Moss Side knocking on doors for Lucy Powell.

Tomorrow morning I’m at the licence review hearing for Twisted in Fallowfield. This bar has been causing a large number of complaints from local residents so we’re hoping for a good result.

Thursday is the 193rd anniversary of the Peterloo Massacre,  so after a few hours at the Citizens’ Advice Bureau in Swinton, I’m going to the Peterloo Debate at the People’s History Museum, where Tony Lloyd will be discussing the right of citizens to protest, the power of the state and the very nature of policing, which are key challenges now in the UK and across many parts of the world. And after that I’m off to sample the pub quiz at the Lass O’Gowrie!

On Friday I’m back in Swinton at GMFRS HQ, where as part of my role as the Fire Authority’s member champion for consultation, engagement and social media, I’m attending a demonstration of some software which could help the service connect even better with local residents. Should be exciting!

Hope you all enjoy the rest of your week…I’m off to wrestle with leaflets.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

