A happy Sunday afternoon around Platt Lane…

I was out door-knocking on Sunday afternoon for a couple of hours for our Rusholme candidate Kate Chappell, and ended in an unbearably good mood for the following reasons:

1. It was so sunny. I’m such a predictable creature. A couple of hours of sunshine and I find myself wanting to nip to Sainsburys for picnic food

2. I spotted this mosaic-thing on a wall on the Moss Side side of Parkfield Road – I’d never seen it before, and if I’m entirely honest with you, this entire blog post has been an excuse to show you this picture:

Isn’t that lovely?

3. Although we didn’t get the best response on the doorstep – everyone was out enjoying the sunshine, probably even more than we were – most of the people we did speak to were going to vote Labour. Lib Dem support around here is in freefall.

4. I walked home through the park and was accosted by a young lad offering me free tea and biscuits. Free tea and biscuits. If you know me at all, you’ll know how much these things mean to me…It turned out he, along with a group of equally lovely student-looking types, was from Holy Trinity Church on Platt Lane; and if I’ve read their website correctly, the tea and biscuits effort is part of Platt Students‘ regular Sunday ‘Godzebo’ project. Now, religion is not my thing, but I am a big fan of tea, biscuits and puns on the word ‘gazebo’, so I thought I’d give them a shout out. If you’re interested in their work you can follow them on Twitter; and if you happen to be lying around Platt Fields next Sunday to laze off a hangover, have a look for the Godzebo before they run out of bourbons.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

